Monday

My expectations for weekends are wildly unrealistic, much like when I get a seed catalog in December and choose 90% of the things in it that I’d love to plant and grow. Then reality sets in. I don’t have room for much of anything, and certainly not a hundred new, strange plants.
I’d like to simultaneously get up early and sleep in late. I’d like to garden all day and yet stay on top of dishes and laundry and cook something special for dinner. And I’d like to vegetate all day at the same time. I’d like to go to bed early and stay up late at the same time, too. Actually eating something after gardening all day would be great. I’d like to do something with Cassidy and garden all day at the same time. Go somewhere and stay home simultaneously.
This is Memorial Day weekend coming up. I’ll be happier if I have realistic expectations of what I can accomplish and what’s sensible to try and accomplish. I usually make fried chicken for Memorial Day, and potato salad. Cassidy is excited about this. Make the potato salad on Thursday and fried chicken on Friday. Cole slaw requires too many little bits and pieces and I do not have the extra money to buy those items.

  1. Chicken drumsticks and thighs
  2. Potatoes
  3. Eggs
  4. Green onions
  5. Mayonaisse
Leave a Reply

