Coffee Concert

huge crane

An e-mail to the principal and the choir instructor @ my daughter’s school:

Here’s the one of two photos I took @ BHMS this morning when I was attending a “Coffee Concert”. I deleted the other photo of my daughter after being informed that cameras were not welcome — parents could take photos of ONLY their children.

Over the years I’ve been a single father, honestly, the rewards have been rather few. It’s hard work. After being informed that I could take photos of only my daughter, not in her chorus/choir group, I ruminated on that fact and realized that *being able to take photos* of my children at soccer, Little League, Cub Scouts, Girl Scouts, swim lessons, 5th Grade Band, et cetera is *extremely significant* to me, and is truly one of the few tangible rewards of raising kids. I have pictures of them growing up and doing various activities.

I do wish that any future announcements of “Coffee Concerts” prominently features the fact that parents are not welcome to photograph any child other than their own, which means, in effect, no photos of the chorus/choir singing together. It was rather refreshing to see and hear the chorus/choir perform. I was beginning to think it was all fundraising. It’s a shame I have only a photograph of the enormous crane that was in operation during school hours this morning.

This left a bitter taste in my mouth. I’ll bet that I’m not the only parent that feels this way.

Gordon Wagner

Leave a Reply

